If you're doing some clean up in your database you may be looking to "Archive" a Project. But what does that even mean? We'll dive into that in this article!
If you have Projects that have been long completed and no longer has value in regular reporting/tracking, say your "Clean Streets USA 2019", then you can "Archive" it! This will clean up the Project selections across all the areas in Virtuous that pull from your available Projects.
Keep in mind, "Archiving" a Project is notably different from "Closing" a Project. If you're hoping to learn what is means to "Close" a Project, you'll want to check out this Support Article.
To archive a Project navigate to the Projects page and locate the specific Project you want to archive in the list. Click the three dots to the right of the Project name. Select "Archive" from pop-up options.
This will open a new window where you will confirm that you wish to Archive the Project by selecting "Archive". Ta-da! Your Project is now archived.
When a Project is "Archived" that causes a few things to happen.
- The Project will no longer be listed on the Project page in Virtuous
- The Project will no longer be available as an option in a Giving Form
- The Project will no longer be available as an option during the Gift Entry process
- The Project will no longer populate into Reporting as an option or in general Reports
If you ever need to reference a previously Archived Project, no need to panic! You can select the "Actions" drop-down menu in the top right and select "View Archived Projects".
Here, a list of all Projects that have ever been Archived will be available to view. If you need to restore the Project to view more details, then go ahead and click "Unarchive". The Project will then be available on the main Projects page and all details will restore.